Month: January 2011

  • film review - The Social Network

    Okay, this is not really a full movie review--I just decided that I want to use my blog to talk ramble about something a little bit longer than a status message update.

    Yahoo! had a movie night last night, so we got to watch The Social Network at URL's Cafe in Sunnyvale.

    My impression? It was REALLY good.

    Some thoughts:

    • The computer science parts were actually real and believable. VERY NICE
    • WOW! It won 4 Golden Globe awards, including Best Picture.
    • Also WOW! The screenplay is downloadable online, for free (for now...)
    • Theatrically (or story-wise?), it was similar to "Pursuit of Happyness" and "Boiler Room," and since those were really good movies, I'm not surprised that this movie did so well.
    • If that movie even partially portrayed Mark Zuckerberg accurately--well then, making an internet fortune isn't for everyone (it's not just luck and haphazard effort). Mark is genius and seriously wicked computer programmer.
    • Haha, I want to try to implement something similar to Face Mash using an ELO ranking algorithm--something fun and entertaining, but less offensive.
    • Also, I want to build a startup website now... something, anything that I'm passionate about...

  • Rehab Review - Lecrae's album

    This CD is pretty crazy (as in crazy good!)

    Thoughts:

    • The music and beats are more intense (and better) than any secular hip-hop I've EVER listened to
    • The lyrics and rhymes are so SOLID

    I constantly get chills down my spine while listening to this.

    But the words are really hard to understand, so I look forward to listening while reading along with the lyrics. Definitely a lot of slang and poetic expressions.

    An excerpt from "High":

    They can't stop His shine, He so amazing
    The Son rose for some daylight savin's
    He saved us from the beef on Easter
    Then build a damnation like a beaver
    All men fall short like Keibler
    Elf, Gary Coleman, Webster, and Lil' Casesar

  • ways to deal with obnoxious recruiters

    Some are nice, friendly, and helpful. Some are nice and selfish. Some are obnoxious, annoying, and rude.

    For recruiters that don't make an effort, I am contemplating:

    1. Reply with canned email
    2. Reply with only a YouTube link: Stephanie Tanner "How Rude"

    I may include some canned email responses on here if there is enough interest.

    What do you do?