December 1, 2010

  • new skin and look

    Well, not quite yet. I'm going to be changing it up.

    Why I'm doing this:

    • I haven't been blogging much in a while, but want to pick it up again
    • When I do write, I don't get a lot of views unless I broadcast it in all my micro-blogging/social network status updates
    • When people do come here, they are probably turned off by the layout and color scheme of the page. It used to look better, but Xanga has changed its software and layouts through many iterations, and I'm still on the old school page layout
    • It's getting increasingly hard to maintain the look & feel and the custom JavaScript and CSS that I wrote for this page.
    • My interests have changed/grown, and so have the purposes/focus of this personal blog.
      • I still love God and am passionate about Jesus Christ and spreading His fame, but I also started a new website, Awe and Reverence, to mainly focus about my reflections the Bible, and I'd like to devote more time to that.
      • I've also grown in my interests of computer science and software engineering, both professionally and personally, productivity, sports and activities (basketball, cycling, and more recently snowboarding and motorcycling).
    • A realization that I can still glorify God without being a "loud Christian" or wearing it all over my "sleeve"--but the two images on this site that stand out the most, banner graphic and background image were my original pieces of artwork and a combination of photography and my limited Photoshop skills from way back. I think this was when I was a sophomore in college...
    • My writing style has changed over time... so my Xanga is in need of a face-lift as well
    • I'm probably not taking advantage of any site-wide SEO that Xanga has been working on...
    • My OCF account is down, and I currently don't have time to get it back up--someone was trying to hack it! so it got shut down =(
    • ...

    Why stay on Xanga? Why not start a new blog?

    • WordPress would definitely be the best alternative, but...
      • My public WordPress looks pretty sad, and I don't want to spend time to maintain it.
        • It's just there because I wanted to claim the name jontsai before anyone else did (otherwise, I'd end up in the situation where "jontsai" was already on a popular service like Yahoo!--even though I work here, I still can't get that name), and for the SEO purposes.
      • A personalized blog powered by WordPress.org software, like Awe and Reverence (which is a website, not a blog!) would definitely be cool, but I don't want to maintain another site
    • I have a lot of posts written here on Xanga already. I want to keep all of the posts together and for visitors to be able to find them, embarrassing or not. No point in taking them down, I'm not planning on running for public office any time soon.
    • I paid $100 a while ago to become a Xanga Premium user for Life. Separately, they even awarded me a TRUE badge! Although... it seems like they added "Premium Plus".... that's understandable, everyone needs to make money...
    • Xanga's SEO is pretty good. Better than any website that I created on my own, so far...
    • I want to maintain my Xanga friends and the social features on here.
    • ...

    Enough talking, get to work. More doing!

Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment