Month: May 2010

  • donate

    If you ever find any of the content on my site(s) useful or helpful, feel free to donate! Or do it just because you want to =)

    Donate $1 by clicking the link below =)

  • Kashmiri v. UC Regents Class Action Settlement

    I get an envelope in the mailbox. Through the window, I see:

    Kashmiri v. Regents of the University of California
    Class Action Administrator
    [their address]

    April 30, 2010

    Jonathan P Tsai
    [my old Berkeley address]

    The letter was forwarded from my previous address.

    For more than a year, I had I heard about a class action suit vs UC Regents for students who overpaid tuition from year X to year Y, because UC had over-charged.. I thought it was going to be a check for $$$$$$.

    I open it...

    $5.82

    "Five And 82/100 Dollars"

    All that for not even $6.

    Talk about anti-climactic
    ----
    edit

    BTW, Xanga, do you miss me?
    ----
    edit 2 - including text of letter, just for a piece of history

    Attached below is your final Refund Payment from the Judgment in the class action titled Kashmiri v. Regents of the University of California. This final Refund Payment is the result of the Order Regarding Amendment of Final Plan of Distribution approved by the Court on March 30, 2010 for re-distribution of the funds that remained from the December 8, 2008 distribution. For further information regarding this case and payment, please see the information posted on the Internet at www.ucfeesclassaction.com.

    You must cash or deposit this check within 180 days. Any checks that are not negotiated within 180 days from the date of issue will be void and new or replacement checks will not be issued.

    Sincerely,

    Settlement Administrator